Nicholson McLaren Engines - Sponsors of the 2004 British Speed Hill Climb Championship

2004 Season 2004 Results
2004 Winners

Venue Map
April 12 loton Park
May 2 Prescott
May 15 Barbon
May 16 Harewood
May 30 Gurston Down
June 6 Shelsley Walsh
June 13 Loton Park
June 20 Doune
July 4 Harewood
July 15 Bouley Bay
July 17 Val des Terres
July 25 Wiscombe
August 7 Craigantlet
August15 Shelsley Walsh
August 29 Gurston Down
September 5 Prescott
September 19 Doune

Web Design



Willem StartsIn a weeken without the championship top two and with many showers there was still plenty to get excited about! There were two first time round winners in the Nicholson McLaren British Hill Climb Championship in Paul Haimes and Willem Toet. Along with another rain affected qualification and run-off session here was a result to savour for lovers of future best-ever result trivia. Who would have bet on a second place show from young Will Mason at the start of the event?

Will and TimThe morning started well with many of the usual suspects plus Aberdeen’s Stewart Robb qualifying. Trevor Willis had a moment at East Brae to miss out on a run-off chance. Top qualifier Paul Haimes held his nerve as final morning runner to top the results sheet in a great shoot-out with Ben Butterfield, Roger Moran and Martin Groves. The last five runners had qualified within 0.32 of each other for our sport’s equivalent of a blanket finish. Your reporter regretfully cannot comment on Pauls reception as he returned to the paddock as he was still top o’the hill at the time. Continually improving Tom New proved previous results no fluke with a fine ninth equal in the QED V6 Pilbeam.

Tim MasonPart way through afternoon qualifying the threatened rain arrived and came again several times before close of play. First running dual drivers Toet, Warburton, Scott Moran and Ranson must have been mighty relieved that the rain held off for as long as it did. Long time Shelsley record holder Richard Brown found himself once more in a shoot out for points as no others from the unlimited cars could top his 44.69 qualifier. Time for the run-off and tyre choice was crucial. Will Mason went with wet fronts and slick rears to see 3 subsequent runners fail to better him. Penultimate runner Allan Warburton gambled on slicks to all four wheels in the last seconds before his run and hit the barrier around Garden Gate. Final runner Willem Toet took the win in a super display over two seconds better than his nearest rival. At the foot of the hill celebrating Willem told us of severe nerves during the run and an absolute desire not to throw this one away. With Scott Moran third, Paul Ranson fourth, fifth for Simon Frost was just what the Doctor ordered. George Brown held it together for a terrific seventh equal with Phil Cooke.

Willem and BenWith undoubted young talent Will Mason, also up and coming Todd Fleetwood plus Ed Hollier and Nicholson McLaren British Hill Climb Championship leader Adam Fleetwood all so young, the future on the hills looks very bright. Apologies to any other young ‘uns missed!

Check out the news pages to find what happened to the Graeme Wight’s car.

Report by Eddie Walder

Round 15 Round 16
Paul Haimes 38.08
Ben Butterfield 38.42
Roger Moran 39.13
Martin Groves 39.14
Mike Dean 39.29
Allan Warburton 39.56
Rob Turnbull 39.61
Simon Durling 39.78
Tom New 40.00
Willem Toet 40.00
Stewart Robb 40.15
Trevor Willis 40.78
Willem Toet 44.77
William Mason 47.02
Scott Moran 47.53
Paul Ranson 48.20
Simon Frost 48.27
Steve Owen 48.30
Phil Cooke 48.38
George Brown 48.38
Chris Guile 50.46
Richard Brown 52.57
Allan Warburton Fail
Ian Fidoe DNS