Nicholson McLaren Engines - Sponsors of the 2004 British Speed Hill Climb Championship

2004 Season 2004 Results
2004 Winners

Venue Map
April 12 loton Park
May 2 Prescott
May 15 Barbon
May 16 Harewood
May 30 Gurston Down
June 6 Shelsley Walsh
June 13 Loton Park
June 20 Doune
July 4 Harewood
July 15 Bouley Bay
July 17 Val des Terres
July 25 Wiscombe
August 7 Craigantlet
August15 Shelsley Walsh
August 29 Gurston Down
September 5 Prescott
September 19 Doune

Web Design


Shelsley Walsh Round 27

Adam FleetwoodAdam Fleetwood showed exactly why he was recently crowned 2004 Nicholson Mclaren British Hill Climb Champion by taking the Shelsley Walsh course record into new territory with the first ever 23 second runs in history. He served a warning in Saturday practise with a 24.03. This was followed by a record splintering and shattering 23.87 in Sunday morning qualifying and a 23.92 to win round 27. Despite the understandable excitement he made it look so smooth and easy. Truly the sign of a champion!

But the excitement began in Sunday qualifying with a record destroying 26.22 from Phil Cooke in the Force, taking over a second from his 27.31 of June 6th! Then it was recent ladies record snatcher Sue Young at it again in the old man Deryk’s Del-lara using all that massive methanol fuelled grunt to get into the 26’s at 26.98 to win the (must be re-titled) man-of-the-meeting! As the big cars ran through qualifying it was Willem Toet setting the pace on a 24.86. Not long ago that would brought cheers of congratulations for a hill record, but wait, here comes Adam Fleetwood for a game-over statement of 23.87 and the fastest drive ever at the most historic of all motor sport venues. No disrespect to all the other competitors but this was a performance of epic proportions delivered in an almost unhurried way. Is it your reporter’s ears or does the engine in this car sound as if it uses less RPM than any other? Is there even more in hand with this amazing car/driver combo?

Most spectacular qualifier has to be Mr Sparks Rob Turnbull for his display of Platinum-white visual effects out of the kink. With only 2.5 litres he can sure carry that speed through from the crossing bend. Come to our house on November the 5th please Rob!

Run-off time and it was dual driving Roger Fleetwood first up with a 26.90, but no points eleven cars later. Giant killer Trevor Willis squeezed all out of two litres for a 9th place. Phil Cooke a 26.86 and no points; in this company equalling his new record would still not have earned a championship point. What a shame given all his undisputed effort. Martin Groves and Willem Toet both in the 24 second bracket but here comes that man Fleetwood again a full second quicker. 23.92 for a maximum eleven points. What a morning!

Round 27
Adam Fleetwood 23.92
Martin Groves 24.93
Willem Toet 24.94
Roger Moran 25.54
Paul Haimes 25.58
Rob Turnbull 25.59
Deryk Young 25.63
Mike Dean 25.67
Trevor Willis 26.10
Simon Durling 26.13
Phil Cooke 26.86
Roger Fleetwood 26.90

Shelsley Walsh Round 28

Here we went again. Phil Cooke in the 26’s again but no qualification this time. Career Shelsley best 26.01 for Paul Ranson set the benchmark for run off qualification. Superb shot from Trevor Willis just off his 2 litre record sat him mid pack in the run off. Spits and spots from the sky as the last of the qualifiers took their class runs then some proper rain and just what we didn’t want. All the top 12 runners on full wets and away they went. Lots of effort but most around ten seconds slower than the morning run off. This could have spoiled the day but with competition this hot not many cared. Big power not so much of an advantage when this big power hill is wet, so penultimate runner Haimes blitzed them. But wait, here comes that man Fleetwood again to show them all the way home. What a worthy champion! While Athens saw athletic competition we had witnessed the Olympics of our chosen sport!

Round 28
Adam Fleetwood 31.75
Paul Haimes 32.34
Willem Toet 32.66
Martin Groves 33.07
Mike Dean 35.33
Trevor Willis 33.45
Rob Turnbull 34.38
Roger Moran 34.65
Simon Durling 35.95
Roger Fleetwood 36.12
Paul Ranson 36.67
Scott Moran 37.19

Championship Round Up

Willem Toet may yet snatch second position with six rounds at three venues remaining.

Mike Dean moves ahead of the again absent Graeme Wight Junior while long time competitor Rob Turnbull edges ever closer to the Scottish former Champion with more great displays of how to carry the speed through the middle reaches of the hill.

Fifteen points from Paul Haimes edges him closer to ensuring that elusive top ten number for 2005, whilst proving that big power isn’t always absolute in this sport.

See you all at Gurston Down August 29th!

Eddie Walder