Nicholson McLaren Engines - Sponsors of the 2004 British Speed Hill Climb Championship

2004 Season 2004 Results
2004 Winners

Venue Map
April 12 loton Park
May 2 Prescott
May 15 Barbon
May 16 Harewood
May 30 Gurston Down
June 6 Shelsley Walsh
June 13 Loton Park
June 20 Doune
July 4 Harewood
July 15 Bouley Bay
July 17 Val des Terres
July 25 Wiscombe
August 7 Craigantlet
August15 Shelsley Walsh
August 29 Gurston Down
September 5 Prescott
September 19 Doune

Web Design


Moist & Misty Bouley
Report by Eddie Walder
Pictures by Adam Fleetwood

Moist & Misty BouleyThe Nicholson McLaren British Hill Climb Championship made its annual pilgrimage to the Channel islands and encountered a foggy start that prevented the arrival of several aircraft with at least two hill climb visitors aboard. Although damp & moist, nobody used any wet tyres. Round 19 qualifiers held no surprises and Islander Colin Le Maitre got stuck in with the ex Tim Mason Gould. In the run-off it was business as usual for the top runners.

Moist & Misty BouleyThe unfortunate Rob Turnbull suffered an engine failure that excluded him from the rest of the event and from Guernsey, and has been provisionally diagnosed as the same failure that has sidelined Graeme Wight Junior. Top of the shop in round 19 was Adam Fleetwood followed by Willem Toet, Martin Groves and Colin Le Maitre. Unfortunately for Colin, things were about to go downhill fast. Round 20 qualifiers this time included Chris Merrick.

Moist & Misty BouleyColin Le Maitre qualified well to run second last in the run-off, but he clipped a wall for a failed run. As Adam Fleetwood waited for the course to be cleared for his final run of the day, rain started, and although his time was good, he netted third place behind Martin Groves and Willem Toet. The old 38.65 Andy Priaulx record from 1995 remains intact for another year although Adam got closest on 38.72!



Round 19 Round 20
Adam Fleetwood 39.07
Willem Toet 39.75
Martin Groves 39.82
Colin Le Maitre 39.98
Roger Moran 40.16
Simon Durling 40.64
Mike Dean 40.78
Scott Moran 40.92
Chris Merrick 41.25
Trevor Willis 41.29
Paul Haimes 41.77
Rob Turnbull Fail
Martin Groves 38.95
Willem Toet 39.00
Adam Fleetwood 39.40
Roger Moran 39.66
Simon Durling 40.05
Mike Dean 40.16
Scott Moran 40.43
Roger Fleetwood 41.03
Trevor Willis 41.18
Chris Merrick 42.69
Colin Le Maitre Fail
Paul Haimes Fail